New York City is a global city that confronts many of the worlds most serious health problems, yet it also serves as a cradle of public health innovation. At four campuses located in Brooklyn, East Harlem, the Bronx and mid-town Manhattan, the CUNY School of Public Health works to improve the health of the people of New York City and the world.


The School of Public Health (SPH) is part of the City University of New York (CUNY), which is made up of twenty-four campuses across the five boroughs. Employing the resources of the nation’s largest and most diverse urban university, the school seeks to create new models of public health innovation.


The four consortial campuses of the School of Public Health – Brooklyn College, Hunter College, Lehman College and The Graduate Center – bring together students and faculty from throughout New York City and from around the world to engage with practitioners, researchers, activists, community residents and policymakers who share an interest in improving the health of the whole people.


The consortial School of Public Health began in 2006 and was accredited by the Council on Education for Public Health (CEPH) in 2011. Several of the individual programs at the consortial campuses date back to the early 1970s.


Dean’s Corner


  • The CUNY School of Public Health stands committed to carrying out its mission of innovative teaching, research and service to create and sustain a healthier New York City and to promote equitable, efficient, evidence-based solutions


Mary Bassett

How can public health research address the root causes of ill health such as poverty, income inequality, unemployment, and inadequate housing?



Students at the CUNY School of Public Health come from all over the globe, and from all over New York City.



The alumni from the CUNY School of Public Health work in a variety of fields in New York City and beyond.