SPH – COMMITTEE FOR EQUITY AND INCLUSION 2023-2024

Members:

Co-chairs: Himani Sharma; Sasha Fleary

Student members: Nimra Rahman; Antionette Wearing

Faculty members: Levi Waldron; Marie Sillice*; Victoria Ngo; Rachael Piltch-Loeb Staff members: Daneen Anderson-Mercer; Paulo Lellis; Toya Cox; Tina Lin

Minutes April 1, 2024

Excused: Victoria Ngo, Rachael Piltch-Loeb, Antionette Wearing

Grand Rounds Speaker:

Nimra asked if the CEI-sponsored session is open to non-SPH attendees. Paulo confirmed.

Paulo also confirmed that the information would be distributed by email from SPH Communications to the campus community.

Nimra will distribute the promotion material accordingly.

Campus Climate Survey Update:

Sasha noted that there is no further update on the Campus Climate Survey.

Staff Awards:

Sahana will follow up with Doris, Susan and Arthur about including full-time RF employees as eligible to be nominated for the Annual Staff Awards in keeping with building an equitable and inclusive School community.

DEI metrics for students and employees

Himani will follow up with Alexis Feinberg on available student data.

Sahana noted that she had received 3-year comparative data on employees which would help in building the employee DEI metrics.

Tina noted some available DEI-focused employee data

- 2021 APA Task Force Report https://www.apa.org/pubs/reports/inequities-academic-tenure-promotion.pdf
- 2022 https://www.diverseeducation.com/reports-data/article/15303944/new-report-faculty-remain-stubbornly-white

Diversity Calendar and Resources:

Tina and Paulo will discuss the CEI Diversity Calendar, the resources and the Dean's statements issued to commemorate specific days/months with SPH Communications to gain an understanding of the schedule of statements and discuss DEI focused statements.

^{*} Marie Silice stepped down effective November 1, 2023.

SPH – COMMITTEE FOR EQUITY AND INCLUSION 2023-2024

Members:

Co-chairs: Himani Sharma; Sasha Fleary

Student members: Nimra Rahman; Antionette Wearing

Faculty members: Levi Waldron; Marie Sillice*; Victoria Ngo; Rachael Piltch-Loeb Staff members: Daneen Anderson-Mercer; Paulo Lellis; Toya Cox; Tina Lin

AGENDA

April 1, 2024

Updates and Information

CEI Nomination and Election Calendar

• Week of April 1: First communication

• April 8: 2nd reminder

• April 15: 3rd reminder

• April 23: 4th reminder

• Final reminder/deadline: April 26

^{*} Marie Silice stepped down effective November 1, 2023.