SPH – COMMITTEE FOR EQUITY AND INCLUSION 2023-2024

Members:

Co-chairs: Himani Sharma; Sasha Fleary

Student members: Nimra Rahman; Antionette Wearing

Faculty members: Levi Waldron; Marie Sillice*; Victoria Ngo; Rachael Piltch-Loeb
Staff members: Daneen Anderson-Mercer; Paulo Lellis; Toya Cox; Tina Lin

MINUTES

March 18, 2024

Excused: Levi

Annual Staff Awards:

Sahana provided an update on the submissions for the 3 Staff Awards and the Staff Leadership Award. There has been a significant increase in the number of submissions with 13 submissions for the 3 Staff Awards and 8 submissions for the Staff Leadership Award, compared to 4 submissions each for each category last year.

The Staff Awards Review Committee consisting of Ghada Soliman, Karen Florez, Kassandra Perez, Melissa Been and Daneen Anderson-Mercer will forward the finalists to the Dean by March 29th.

The Awards Luncheon is scheduled on April 11th.

The eligibility of RF employees for this initiative was discussed. SPH prides itself in being inclusive of all individuals on campus who support and promote the work of the School. RF employees working on grant-funded activities in the Centers and Institutes provide critical support towards the growth and success of the School.

The CEI will reach out to Doris, Marilyn and Susan to review the viability of adding RF staff to this initiative.

Daneen noted the delay with the award distribution last year. She stated that there were several discussions with RF regarding using RF monies for employee awards.

Campus Climate Survey

Sasha noted that the campus climate survey is still under review and the vendor, Maya Beasley has been asked to provide source /citation information to validate some of the questions in the survey.

The survey will possibly be undertaken next semester (Fall 2024)

The vendor may have to be paid additional compensation for the revisions and the delay.

Assessment

Employee Metrics:

Daneen is developing a spreadsheet to consolidate the available employee information on recruitment, hire, career movement, and termination. This exercise will allow highlighting information that needs to be gathered.

Student metrics:

^{*} Marie Silice stepped down effective November 1, 2023.

SPH – COMMITTEE FOR EQUITY AND INCLUSION 2023-2024

Members:

Co-chairs: Himani Sharma; Sasha Fleary

Student members: Nimra Rahman; Antionette Wearing

Faculty members: Levi Waldron; Marie Sillice*; Victoria Ngo; Rachael Piltch-Loeb
Staff members: Daneen Anderson-Mercer; Paulo Lellis; Toya Cox; Tina Lin

Based on information received from Robyn, student data is available from different departments. It is not consolidated and easily available.

The CEI will review the flow of data from the different units and advocate for a central repository of student data that addresses DEI factors.

Professional Development:

Himani reported on the presentation by Karen Florez at the C-IDEA conference on March 14th. She noted that Prof. Florez presented a worksop on "mentoring for junior faculty" (related to SPH membership in the NCFDD) and that this could be expanded to administrative staff as well. Sahana noted that the NCFDD provides professional development for staff as one of their services. Sahana will check on the current membership level and services offered.

The Lunch and Learn with a Leader series is a new professional development offering at SPH supported by the Dean's Office and Human Resources. It is recommended that the C-IDEA workshops presented by SPH faculty may be presented on campus as very few SPH faculty and staff attended the in-person conference at the Graduate Center.

CEI Elections:

The Governance Council will nominate and elect 4 faculty and 4 staff members for terms of service beginning fall 2024. The nominations will begin in the first week of April with elections conducted by electronic voting at the GC meeting on May 9th.

Student members to the CEI will be elected during the GSGA elections in the spring and will serve for the 2024-25 year. Students must be available to serve for the full academic year.

^{*} Marie Silice stepped down effective November 1, 2023.

SPH – COMMITTEE FOR EQUITY AND INCLUSION 2023-2024

Members:

Co-chairs: Himani Sharma; Sasha Fleary

Student members: Nimra Rahman; Antionette Wearing

Faculty members: Levi Waldron; Marie Sillice*; Victoria Ngo; Rachael Piltch-Loeb Staff members: Daneen Anderson-Mercer; Paulo Lellis; Toya Cox; Tina Lin

AGENDA

March 18, 2024

Updates from

- Co-chairs
- Members
 - Assessment
 - Communication

CEI members' nomination and election for terms beginning AY 2024

^{*} Marie Silice stepped down effective November 1, 2023.