## SPH – COMMITTEE FOR EQUITY AND INCLUSION 2023-2024

Members:

Co-chairs: Himani Sharma; Sasha Fleary

Student members: Nimra Rahman; Antionette Wearing

Faculty members: Levi Waldron; Marie Sillice\*; Victoria Ngo; Rachael Piltch-Loeb
Staff members: Daneen Anderson-Mercer; Paulo Lellis; Toya Cox; Tina Lin

### **Minutes**

### **December 4, 2023**

Excused: Levi, Toya and Victoria

### **Campus Climate Survey:**

Sasha provided an update on the Campus Climate Survey. She explained that, following the guidance from SPH Legal Counsel, Patricia Stein, the Governance Council Steering Committee created a subcommittee to review the survey instrument. In addition to herself, members included Doris Suarez-Fontana; Ghada Soliman; Glen Johnson; Karen Florez; Lynn Roberts; Susan Klitzman; and Zaire Ali.

The subcommittee members identified potential revisions to the survey instrument. The subcommittee met with Maya Beasley and discussed these revisions with her.

Sasha will reach out to Glen for an update and next steps.

It is the understanding that the campus climate survey will be implemented in Spring 2024.

### **Grand Rounds:**

Nimra and Paulo will discuss the Grand Rounds speaker recommended by Nimra for the March 19 and 20, 2024 dates.

### Goals for Spring 2024:

### **Staff Awards:**

Check whether Staff Awards will be implemented in Spring 2024.

Items of concern and to be reviewed:

- Review Form
- Form submission only
- Appropriate timeline for advertising and submission to allow sufficient time for nominations
- Adding Public Safety staff
- Timely payments

### Goals:

The following goals / activities were discussed for Spring 2024:

### Communication and Education:

Himani and Paulo will continue to populate the CEI Diversity Resources each month.

The Diversity Calendar will be reviewed and revised as necessary.

<sup>\*</sup> Marie Silice stepped down effective November 1, 2023.

## SPH – COMMITTEE FOR EQUITY AND INCLUSION 2023-2024

### Members:

Co-chairs: Himani Sharma; Sasha Fleary

Student members: Nimra Rahman; Antionette Wearing

Faculty members: Levi Waldron; Marie Sillice\*; Victoria Ngo; Rachael Piltch-Loeb
Staff members: Daneen Anderson-Mercer; Paulo Lellis; Toya Cox; Tina Lin

- Any member wishing to volunteer for this work may reach out to either Himani or Paulo.

Embed a DEI lens in all communications and messaging:

- Paulo will share the DEI Communications document with the new committee members and also send to the Office of Communications.

### Assessment:

Develop, track and make available DEI metrics on student recruitment, admissions, retention, and outcomes.

Himani will reach out to Alexis Feinberg for available data

Develop, track and make available DEI metrics on faculty and staff in recruitment, hiring, retention and career advancement, including but not limited to promotion, tenure, and movement in title.

- Daneen and Sahana will work on developing a format for gathering available data and finding the source for any gaps in data.

A format / spreadsheet for both data sets will be shared with committee members for review and feedback.

### Culture:

Sahana spoke about the Chancellor's 3-year Anti-Hate Initiative Program for which the School has received funding to host information and training sessions for students, faculty and staff. The first phase will be implemented in Spring 2024.

### **Transition for Committee members:**

Other than Rachel Piltch-Loeb and Tina Lin, Committee members will finish their first term of service (2023-2024). Elections/re-elections for new members will be held in spring 2024.

The vacant position for the non-tenure track faculty member has not been filled.

### Other items:

Paulo will update the CEI webpage.

Sasha agreed to be a member of the University Conference Planning Committee for the C-IDEA Conference on *Educating for Health Equity and Social Justice* in March 2024.

<sup>\*</sup> Marie Silice stepped down effective November 1, 2023.

# SPH – COMMITTEE FOR EQUITY AND INCLUSION 2023-2024

### Members:

Co-chairs: Himani Sharma; Sasha Fleary

Student members: Nimra Rahman; Antionette Wearing

Faculty members: Levi Waldron; Marie Sillice\*; Victoria Ngo; Rachael Piltch-Loeb Staff members: Daneen Anderson-Mercer; Paulo Lellis; Toya Cox; Tina Lin

### **AGENDA**

**December 4, 2023** 

**Updates** 

**Goal for Spring 2024** 

<sup>\*</sup> Marie Silice stepped down effective November 1, 2023.